Monday, May 21, 2012

Here We Go Again...SpaceX Launch Rescheduled Tomorrow Morning...

The launch of SpaceX/Falcon 9 is scheduled to launch early Tuesday morning. At 3:44 a.m.

Yeah, I will unfortunately not be going anywhere to view this, because that is extremely early and I have work in the morning. I will try to catch it on TV, though. Check out This Space Available for updates and we'll see what unfolds in the wee hours of Tuesday, May 22...

UPDATE: Yeah, it launched. I've been super-busy at my job, so I haven't been too diligent with my updates, but the launch of Falcon 9 was a success! Yay!

Saturday, May 19, 2012

SpaceX Launch Scheduled for this Morning at 4:55 a.m. (Updated: Nope, It Was Scrubbed)

Yep. So far, it's a go. I'm going to try to get some pictures at a local beach. Fingers crossed...been crazy busy here, hence the lack of updates recently.

EDIT: It was aborted. Dang it...I will post further updates later after I pass out for a while.

EDIT #2: From Spaceflight Now

"Gwynne Shotwell, president of SpaceX, says technicians will inspect Engine No. 5 on the Falcon 9's first stage beginning at around 12 p.m. EDT (1600 GMT). Further data analysis of readings from the engine during the ignition prompted SpaceX to order hands-on inspections before clearing the rocket for liftoff.

The next launch opportunity is still Tuesday at 3:44 a.m. EDT (0744 GMT), but that is pending the outcome of today's inspection.

Shotwell said the abort was triggered one-half second before liftoff after all nine engines were ignited.

Alan Lindenmoyer, NASA's commercial crew and cargo manager, said there should be another launch opportunity May 23 at 3:22 a.m. EDT (0722 GMT)."

There you have it. In happier news, there was a great ISS pass at 4:43 a.m., visible to the east. I had my crappy cell phone camera only, but it was quite visible, albeit quick.

Check This Space Available (and Spaceflight Now...great website with the latest updates in real-time, plus streaming video) for future updates.